kenya coast logo dhow

Lamu News

Lamu Archipelago

Lamu Archipelago

The Lamu archipelago consists of numerous islands and islets. The larger islands include Lamu, Manda, Manda Toto, Pate and Kiwayu.The Kiunga National Reserve is situated on the northern side of the archipelago. Adjacent to Kiunga on the coast lies the Dodori National Reserve, and further north on the Somali border is the Boni National Reserve.

The archipelago is rich in historical and archaeological sites including Takwa and Manda Town on Manda Island, Shanga on Pate Island, and the fort on Lamu itself - built in 1812.

Lamu Archipelago Map

© Copyright 2011 - 2017