Simba Arati, Caleb Amisi Land Top Posts in ODM


The Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) on Friday, made changes to its party hierarchy following the resignation and the defection of some of its members.

In the changes, Kisii Governor Simba Arati will assume the role of Deputy National Chairperson. He will replace former Kisii Women representative Janet Ong’era who pledged allegiance to President William Ruto’s party.

Busia County MP Catherine Omanyo will replace her predecessor  Florence Mutua as the Deputy Secreatry General.  Mutua resigned from the party after the 2022 polls.

Saboti MP Caleb Amisi was named as the new Deputy Organising Secreatry.

Kisii Governor Simba Arati before a Senate Committee on Tuesday, August 8, 2023


Parliament of Kenya

Amisi will be replacing former Kwale Woman Representative Zulekha Hassan.

On the other hand, Fatuma Masito will replace Olga Karani as the Deputy National Treasurer.

Migori senator Eddie Oketch on the other hand was appointed as the Secretary for Humanitarian and Disaster Management Affairs replacing Bob Njagi.

ODM also made changes to the secreatry security docket where Elsie Muhanda was replaced with Justus Kizito.

The party noted that the changes will take effect immediately even as they work to strengthen the party.

Governor Arati and his colleagues will serve in the various posts till next where when the party is scheduled to hold its party primaries.

“The party will hold its grassroots elections early next year. The dates for this exercise will announced by the National Executive Committee,” ODM announced during its NEC meeting on Wednesday.

The Raila-led party announced the changes two days after it expelled some of its members for working with the government.

Notable MPs that were kicked out include Phelix Odiwuor alias Jalang’o (Langata), Elisha Odhiambo (Gem), Caroli Omondi (Suba South), and Gideon Ochanda (Bondo).

Kisumu Senator Tom Ojienda was also axed. 

Entrance to the Ksh180 million ODM headquarters.



Source link