Lobby Groups Start Collecting Signatures to Split Kiambu County

Professionals from five constituencies in Kiambu County have started collecting signatures with a view to eventually present a petition to divide Kiambu County into two stating that they want devolution enhanced by taking services closer to people.

The professionals from Thika, Juja, Ruiru, Gatundu North and South constituencies in their petition have proposed division of the county into Kiambu and Thika counties.

‘’Today, we begin the process of petitioning the splitting of Kiambu County and the creation and separation of Thika County to include the constituencies of the former larger Thika District’’ said one of the petitioners.

Kiambu Governor Kimani Wamatangi on August 23, 2023. addressing mourners of six people who died after an underground water tank caved in during a wedding at Fort Jesus area.


Kimani Wamatangi

The petitioners said that the Kiambu constituencies have a population of 1.18 million people according to the latest report by Kenya National Bureau Of Statics (KNBS) representing a double the figure of other counties.

The lobbyists argued that the population was double that of Tana River, Isiolo, Samburu, Tharaka Nithi and  Lamu counties.

Further, the lobbyists also observed that the county has a larger population than Mandera and Kwale combined.

‘’Kiambu County according to the estimates of the 2019 census has a population of 2.4 million people, this has strained service delivery, sharing of opportunities resource allocation and distribution as well as infrastructure development,’’ added the petitioners.

They further called on President William Ruto and National Assembly Speaker Moses Wetangula to push the bill to improve representation of the county residents.

”We believe that Kiambu deserves this, in fact it deserved it yesterday, let us have this county, let us have Thika County for proper representation of the people,” the lobbyists further said.

The push to split Kiambu county comes after a  parliamentary group of 26 legislators proposed creation of  11 more counties on top of the existing 47, bringing the total to 58.

The section of parliamentarians addressing  the National Dialogue Committee, proposed creation of additional counties on grounds  of economic, social and political marginalisation  of some regions in Kenya with less representation.

The eleven proposed counties by the MPS are Kuria County from Migori County, Teso County from Busia County, Mount Elgon County from Bungoma and Transzoia Counties. 

Legislators also want the creation of East Pokot County from Baringo and West Pokot Counties, Mwingi County from Kitui County, Gucha County from Kisii County and Suba County from Homabay County.

MPs also want creation of Ijara County from Garissa County, Nakuru West from Nakuru County, Wajir South from  Wajir County and Nyambene County from Embu County.

Members of the 13th Parliament during President William Ruto’s inaugural speech on September 29, 2022.


The National Assembly




Source link