Govt Suspends Non-Essential Travel –

President William Ruto today has suspended non-essential travel for 13 categories of State Officers.

In a notice signed by Chief of Staff, Felix Koskei, the measure was described as part of realising prudent and responsible utilisation of public money.

The suspension of foreign travel affects members of the National and County Governments. Deputy President Rigathi Gachagua and Prime Cabinet Secretary Musalia Mudavadi will not be affected by the new suspension. 

Affected officials include the Attorney General, Cabinet Secretaries, Principal Secretaries and County Officers as well as the Controller of the Budget. 

Head of Public Service Felix Koskei addressing government administrators on Wednesday, June 21, 2023.


Others include; the Auditor General, Chief Registrar of the Judiciary, Director of Public Prosecutions, Clerk of the Senate and his counterpart in the National Assembly. 

All County Governors, County Secretaries and County Assembly Clerks will also be affected by the new directive.

Koskei further announced Chairpersons and CEOs of State Corporations, Statutory Offices and Commissions as well as Independent Offices would also be suspended from non-essential travel.

“This has been necessitated by the need to scale down and prioritise spending, focusing on critical operations and activities that are essential to service delivery to the citizen,” the notice read in part.

Going forward, the government announced that foreign travel would be limited to engagements where Kenya’s participation is part of the fulfilment of state obligations or for the purpose of fulfilling statutory leadership.

With immediate effect, the government suspended benchmarking and study visits as well as training and related capacity-building initiatives. 

Additionally, the aforementioned state officers and commissioners will not be able to travel outside the country for research, academic meetings, conferences and meetings of general participation.

Koskei added that side events and caucus and association meetings and events were also banned with immediate effect. 

“Sponsored events which often attract the need for supplementation in terms of quarter per diem and ticket upgrade are similarly suspended, except where the invitees expressly waive the anticipated top-up amount,” State Officers were told. 

If necessary to travel, a cabinet secretary will be accompanied by a maximum of two persons while Principal Secretary can only travel with one member of his staff.

“Delegations accompanying the President, the First Lady, the Deputy President and the Prime Cabinet Secretary shall strictly be approved for officials playing a direct role in the scheduled role,” Koskei outlined. 

A photo of Cabinet meeting held at State Lodge, Sagana, Nyeri County on August 8, 2023.


Source link